Agency Header

 Financial Disclosure

For Blank Copies of the Forms and Instructions, click here:

      » Instructions and FAQ for the Financial Disclosure Statement 
      » Financial Disclosure Statement 

        Filers who change their address or who no longer serve in a position which requires them to file a FDS should contact the Ethics Commission.


Who Must File

• Certain public officials and candidates for certain offices are required to file Financial Disclosure Statements (“FDS”) with the Ethics Commission. 
• Candidates for all state and county offices must file a FDS within 10 days of filing their certificates of candidacy.  Those who are elected must then file a FDS annually. 
• Member of state boards, commissions and agencies who are appointed by the governor must file within 30 days after assuming their duties.  They must then file annually as long as they serve in an appointed position. 
• Cabinet secretaries, commissioners, deputy commissioners, assistant commissioners, directors, deputy directors, and department heads are also required to file annual FDSs.  
• Completed forms are public records available for inspection in the Commission’s offices during regular business hours.  In addition, FDSs filed by certain individuals are placed on this website.

Information for ​2016 Candidates

          The Ethics Act requires candidates for all state and county offices to file a FDS within 10 days of filing their certificates of announcement of their candidacy.  However, candidates who had filed a FDS during 2015 need not file another one during 2016 if they are a candidate only and not a current office holder who must file a FDS by virtue of holding that position.

Search for FDSs on this website

Completed FDSs for the following filers for 2012-16 may be viewed on this website:  

• Members of the Legislature (Senate and House of Delegates);
• Members of the Board of Public Works (Governor, Treasurer, Auditor, Secretary of State, Commissioner of Agriculture, Attorney General);
• Members of the West Virginia Supreme Court of Appeals, and 
• Candidates for these positions.  

Click here:  Search for a Filed Financial Disclosure Statement 

Delinquent Filers   

Any person who knowingly fails or refuses to file a required FDS is guilty of a misdemeanor.  W. Va. Code 6B-2-10(c).

Privacy, Security and Accessibility | WV.gov | USA.gov | © 2016 State of West Virginia